Why I Started A Patreon

Before I even start this post I want to acknowledge that I haven’t been blogging for that long a period of time and what fucking right do I have to be setting up a Patreon, a service that encourages people to pledge and contribute towards my content creation.

Hopefully this post will help clarify my standing on it.

I may have only started creating content on both my blog and youtube channel but I have dreams and aspirations of the content and will strive to create the best content I possibly can, and with the thought of Patreon and the idea of people possibly in the future pledging money is a MASSIVE driver to stay on track and focus on the creating the best stuff I can. It will also force me to schedule more content and take more community focus onboard as people will be paying towards stuff. I WON’T ever detract from my view of what I want to make but there has to be a conversation of what content will work best and areas that I can improve my skills on.

In the future and if my content takes off it will take more of my time to focus on community as well as creation. I want to have to time to build an open welcoming community and this has to start with me. Patreon and the possible monetary support will aid me in making this decision easier to sink time into. This may sound like a selfish thing, I love creating content and building what I have but the increase in revenue would be beneficial to look at it more than a hobby and more as a professional avenue.

It was also set up now to save me setting it up in the future, pledges are always welcome and I understand it will be a while before any one passes a thought on whether or not to pledge but I wanted to have it set up to add another factor in the whole A Gallon Of Caffeine portfolio, it’s only one of the ideas I have going forward to help me create more content.

There is also the add bonus of setting rewards for tier supporters, allowing me to set discord chat, exclusive content and more community rewards such as giveaways and prizes.

Hopefully this has added a bit more transparency on my choice to open a Patreon.

You can find my page here: A GALLON OF CAFFEINE

 

I’d love to hear any feedback or suggestions around this decision, let me know in the comments below.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Started A Patreon

  1. I think its perfectly reasonable. It takes time and energy to produce content and its natural that you want to be rewarded for your work.

    Like

    • Sorry for late reply. That was my thinking with it, in the future hopefully it’s a viable method, and I understand it’s holding a hat out asking for support but in time hopefully the content will be seen as good enough. Thanks for the great comment

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

